What is an underline condition?

People with chronic medical conditions are at a higher risk of developing a severe lower respiratory infection with low oxygen levels and pneumonia. Chronic medical conditions – what many may call “underlying conditions” -- include diabetes, heart disease, obesity, cancer and kidney disease.