Who sings buttercup baby?

"Build Me Up Buttercup," written by Mike d'Abo & Tony Macaulay in 1968, was sung by The Foundations with Colin Young on lead vocals. It hit No. 1 on the Cash Box Top 100, and No. 3 on the US Billboard Hot 100 in early 1969. It was also a No. 2 hit in the United Kingdom.