What does it take to be an astronaut?

A NASA astronaut pilot is selected from the best U.S. active duty military pilot officers serving in any branch of the armed services. Mission specialist astronauts may be civilians or military and all have at least a bachelor’s degree and some work experience. They must pass eye and health tests.