What does the percentage of alcohol mean?

It is the amount of the alcohol chemical present verses the total volume of the liquid, such as wine or whiskey. If wine is 24 proof, then 12 percent of the liquid is alcohol, or about 0.72 ounces in 6 ounces of wine. It is also called ABV.