How many vertebrates are in a human spine?

In humans, the vertebral column usually consists of 33 vertebrae, placed in series and connected by ligaments and intervertebral discs. However, the number of vertebrae can vary between 32 and 35. Usually there are 7 cervical, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 sacral and 4 caudal vertebrae.