What's the difference between a largemouth bass and a smallmouth bass?

The first and most obvious difference between Large and Smallmouth Bass is that Largemouth grow a lot bigger. ... Their upper jaw extends past the eye, while Smallies' jaws are usually in line with it. The next things their fins. Largemouth have a break between their dorsal fins, Smallmouth don't.