What is smooth sweet tea?

the secret to making the best Southern sweet tea, is a pinch of baking soda! It makes a world of difference in a pitcher of freshly brewed iced tea, by neutralizing the tannins in black tea, giving it a smoother taste. (You can use this trick with other teas as well.)