What does boil mean in cooking?

When you see rolling bubbles in liquid it is boiling. Water boils at 99.97 °C (211.95 °F) under standard pressure at sea level, but at 93.4 °C (200.1 °F) at 1,905 metres (6,250 ft) altitude. For a given pressure, different liquids will boil at different temperatures.