How long it take to roast a chicken?

The weight of the chicken dictates the roasting time. Most chickens weigh between 1-2 kg. A 1kg bird or smaller will need to be roasted for about 1 hr at 200 or 180 degrees celsius or gas 6. Larger birds can take up to 1 hr 40 mins