What is a moose cake?

A mousse cake is distinguished by its use of mousse as an ingredient. The word mousse is French in origin (meaning foam or froth) and is unrelated to the animal moose. Mousses incorporate air bubbles to produce a light texture. In a cake, it is usually sweet and made of egg whites or whipped cream.