How long does it take for chocolate to melt?

It depends. Dark chocolate melts more quickly than milk chocolate. Melt in a microwave and non-plastic container, heating for 1 minute plus any extra, as needed, for 30 seconds at a time. Alternatively, you can use a double boiler, or ceramic bowl over boiling water, stirring for 2 to 3 minutes.