Is winter real?

Winter is one of 4 seasons Earth goes through annually, marked by coldest weather in the Northern Hemisphere during December January and February. Winter happens not when earth is farthest from the sun, but when the hemisphere tilts away from the sun, resulting in shorter days & glancing rays.