Is karate japanese?

In 1933, the Okinawan art of karate was recognized as a Japanese martial art by the Japanese Martial Arts Committee known as the "Butoku Kai". Until 1935, "karate" was written as (Chinese hand). ... They decided to call their art "karate" written in Japanese characters as (empty hand).