Why is a cowlick called a cowlick?

cowlick is a section of hair that stands straight up or lies at an angle. Cowlicks appear when the growth direction of the hair forms in (against) the spiral pattern. The term "cowlick" originates from the domestic bovine's habit of licking its young, which results in a swirling pattern in the hair.