What are horses measured in?

A horse's height is measured in what is called a "hand". One hand is 4 inches. When a horse is between an exact hand, the number of inches beyond the last full hand is added as a decimal. For example, a horse that is 58" tall would be 14.2 hands. You would measure at the wither.