What movie is columbo from?

Late American actor Peter Falk (who died in 2011) is probably best known for his work as Columbo, a Los Angeles homicide detective appearing in a series of made-for-TV movies airing primarily in the 1970s, returning to the character in 1989 and 1990. Altogether there were 69 episodes of Columbo.