What is an eragon?

Eragon is the first book in The Inheritance Cycle by American fantasy writer Christopher Paolini. Paolini, born in 1983, began writing the novel after graduating from home school at age fifteen. The book tells the story of a farm boy named Eragon, who finds a mysterious stone in the mountains.