What is the definition of atari?

The word atari means “to hit a target” in Japanese and is associated with good fortune. It comes from the game Go, in which it indicates a situation where a player will be able to capture one or more stones of the opponent in the next move.

---

The Japanese word, Atari, means "HIT", in English.