What are fermented vegetables?

Fermentation is a metabolic process in which an organism converts a carbohydrate,such as starch or a sugar,into an alcohol or an acid. For example, yeast performs fermentation to obtain energy by converting sugar into alcohol. Bacteria perform fermentation, converting carbohydrates into lactic acid.