What ruler was known as the red sun?

Vladimir the Great. Russia folk song and stories refer to him as Krasno Solnyshko (the Fair or Red Sun). Born a Pagan, he converted to Eastern Orthodox Christianity in 988 and vowed to Christianizw the Kievan Rus.