Why does a wooden spoon keep water from boiling over?

The wood acts as a water repellant on the already-unstable bubbles. As a result, it causes them to destabilize and stop rising. Secondly, the spoon is at a cooler temperature than the water and bubbles, so when the bubbles meet the spoon, the steam condenses back into the water.