How long do i boil fresh shrimp?

Cooking time depends on the size of the shrimp. It takes 3 to 5 minutes to boil 1 pound of medium shrimp with the shell on. Watch for them to turn to a bright pink and become opaque. When this happens, remove them from heat, drain and serve.