What was the hindenburg filled with?

The Hindenburg was inflated with Hydrogen, the lightest element to exist but is highly flammable. It was used as the lift gas in all commercial airships until 1922 in the USA and until the Hindenburg in 1937. Helium, the next lightest gas has only half the lift capacity.