What's a hair animal?

An animal that is a hare, H A R E, is 1)any rodentlike mammal of genus Lepus, of family Leporidae, having long ears, a divided upper lip, &long hind limbs adapted for leaping. 2)any of the larger species of this genus, as distinguished from certain smaller ones known as rabbits. Per Dictionary.com