What color is a palomino horse?

Palomino is a genetic color in horses, consisting of a gold coat and white mane and tail, the degree of whiteness can vary from bright white to yellow. Genetically, the palomino color is created by a single allele of a dilution gene called the cream gene working on a "red" (chestnut) base coat.