What causes someone to be negative all the time?

A critical spirit lives the negative, looking for flaws rather than positive items. They complain and usually upset with something or somebody. They often have little control over their tongue, temper and have tendencies for gossip, and slander. They are some sins spoken by Paul in Romans 1:29-32