What is a three alarm fire?

When this level of alarm is sounded, it means there is a typical fire in some sort of a small structure, such as a house. This typically results in three to five units being sent, for instance three pumpers and two more personnel units.

---

A 3 alarm fire is when the central dispatcher announces the need for firefighting personnel and more or different equipment a total of three times, including the original call. For example, NYCFD sends 4 Engine Companies, 2 Ladder Companies, 3 Battalion Chiefs, 2 Deputy Chiefs, 1 Mask Service Unit.