What are tsunamis caused by?

A tsunamis is the same as a rock thrown into a pond but on a massive scale. Tsunamis are usually caused by a large earthquake under the sea. The earthquake causes the sea floor to rise or fall displacing a large volume of water. The giant ripples radiate outward from the quake striking land as waves