Why do snakes have four tongues?

Snakes do not have four tongues. They have one tongue that has a forked tip that gives them better chemical senses when they flick it in and out.

---

Snakes have a forked tongue rather than four tongues. A snake's tongue is long ending in a "Y" shape with tongueletts that move independently. Science believes the tongue is a sense organ. A snake's tongue will roll up to clear the path when a snake swallows large a large meal.