How do you know if a watermelon is ready to eat?

To see if a watermelon is ripe, check the ground spot, the part of the melon which was in contact with the ground. This should be cream-colored. If the spot is white, the melon is not yet fresh. The melon's overall color will be lighter, & it will be heavier compared to similar-sized melons.