Who invented the word dad?

Oxford English Dictionary throws its hands up and admits “of the actual origin we have no evidence.” But, the OED continues, the forms dada and tata, meaning 'father,' originating in infantile or childish speech, occur independently in many languages.” In other words, dad may come from baby talk.