Who killed anakin skywalker's mom?

After Anakin left to become a Jedi, she was sold to Cliegg Lars, who freed her and married her. Just before the Clone Wars, Shmi Skywalker passed away in her son's arms after being tortured by a band of Tusken Raiders.