What is the largest hailstone on record?

The record for the largest hailstone in the US belongs to an 8-inch stone that fell near Vivian, South Dakota, in 2010, according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. It was the size of a volleyball and weighed just under 2 pounds.