What year did michael jackson go solo?

Michael Jackson's first solo album was "Got to Be There" released in 1972. He was still performing with the Jackson Five when this album came out. It wasn't until the "Off The Wall" album in 1978 that Michael was considered a solo singer, although he did perform with the Jackson 5 after that.