Is ricotta cheese and cottage cheese the same thing?

No, although the two can be used in many recipes interchangeably, but there are some distinct differences. Ricotta is a soft cheese that has a fine, moist, grainy texture. Cottage cheese is lumpier, whether the curds are small or large.

---

No