How do you determine the size of a bike?

Adult bikes are measured by their frame size. Most manufacturers now measure the frame from the centre of the crank axle, to the top of the seat tube. Most road bikes are measured in centimetres (cm), whereas mountain bikes are generally measured using inches (in).