How do you know when a grapefruit is ripe?

It should feel plump and heavy, as if it's about to burst with sweet grapefruit juice. In general, ripe citrus will have smooth, thin skin. Give the grapefruit a nice squeeze to see if it's firm. Firm all the way around is a good sign.