What is magnetite?

Magnetite is a mineral and one of the main iron ores, with the chemical formula Fe²⁺Fe³⁺₂O₄. It is one of the oxides of iron, and is ferrimagnetic; it is attracted to a magnet and can be magnetized to become a permanent magnet itself.