Is it true that cats have nine lives?

No. There is an ancient proverb that claims, “A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays and for the last three he stays." Some people believe the nine lives myth is related to cats' ability to always land on their feet.

---

No, but it seems that way because they so often cheat death.