What kind of beer is a porter?

A porter is a dark beer made with brown malt and lots of hops. It was developed in the 18th century in London. Porter and stout are so similar that in some cases it's difficult to tell the difference. Stout beers were originally known as stout porters due to their higher alcohol content and density.