When was oil discovered in texas?

Oil was first observed in Texas in 1543 when observed by a member of the DeSoto expedition. The first economically significant discovery occured in 1894 in what became the Corsicana oilfield when the American Well and Prospecting Company discovered oil by accident in a field while looking for water

---

what is 1894