What's a. m. and p. m.?

The abbreviations am &pm derive from Latin: AM = Ante meridiem: Before noon &PM = Post meridiem: After noon. The 12-hr system divides a 24 hr day into 2 periods 12 hrs each. The 1st 12-hr period designated as AM runs from midnight to noon. The 2nd, marked PM, covers 12 hours from noon to midnight.