Are chili peppers hot?

Yes. They range from 100,001 to 350,000 Scoville Heat Units

---

Some chilies are quite mild, such as bells, pepperoncini, and paprika, which are all low on the Scoville index. The hotter, yet common jalapeno, habanero, and ancho peppers can be mild to medium hot.