What is aluminum hydrochloride?

Aluminum hydrochloride is an astringent used in over-the-counter deodorants and antiperspirants. It is a powerful antiperspirant used for treating hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating). Aluminum hydrochloride works by reducing the activity of sweat glands and may also shrink sweat glands.