What is the happy chemical?

Dopamine is often seen as the main chemical of pleasure, but the current opinion in pharmacology is that dopamine instead confers "motivational salience." Dopamine is released by neurons to send signals to other nerve cells. One dopamine pathway plays a major role in reward-motivated behavior.