Why do we have stomachs?

The stomach is the first stop or holding pouch in the digestive system. In the stomach consumed food and drink is mixed with digestive juices and turned from bits into a watery mush. It takes about four hours for the stomach to process a meal and empty into the intestine the next step in digestion.