How fast does a formula go?

Formula 1 race cars are specially built to be the highest class of auto racing cars sanctioned by the Federation Internationale de Automobile (FIA). A Formula 1 car can hit speeds of up to 215 mph, and exert 6.5 g in cornering. For these reasons, Formula 1 drivers must have a special license.