When do bears hibernate?

Depending on snowfall, temperature and food supply, bears get ready for winter hibernation in late November. The denning period in Yellowstone National Park is approximately 5 months. Grizzly bears and black bears generally do not eat, drink, defecate, or urinate during hibernation.