What's the average temperature of new zealand?

New Zealand's climate varies wildly. The far north has subtropical weather during summer, while inland alpine areas of the South Island can be as cold as -10°C (14°F) in winter. However, most of the country lies close to the coast, which means mild temperatures year-round.