How do you keep hard boiled eggs from cracking?

Methods that help keep eggs from cracking while boiling include: 1. Putting eggs in while the water is still cold, 2. Pricking the large end with a thumbtack or safety pin, 3. Adding vinegar to the water, 4. Adding salt to the water, 5. Shocking the eggs with cold water once the cook is finished.